singapore mrt train
Travel early to travel for free (and it’s less crowded too!)

Early risers who have been enjoying free travel to the 18 designated MRT stations before 7:45am will continue to enjoy free fares for another year (till 23 June 2015). Those who tap out between 7:45am and 8am will also continue to get a 50 cent discount to these 18 stations. And to really help encourage you to shift your morning commute, for the next 3 Fridays (16, 23, & 30 May), Ya Kun Kaya Toast will be giving out free breakfast vouchers worth $4.60.

They will be given at these designated MRT stations until 7:45am:

  • 16 May 2014: Bugis, Orchard, & Tanjong Pagar
  • 23 May 2014: Lavender, Raffles Place, & Somerset
  • 30 May 2014: Chinatown, City Hall, & Dhoby Ghaut

According to the LTA, this free travel scheme, which began nearly a year ago, has accounted for a 7% shift to pre-peak hours for commuters. The LTA hopes that as more employers offer flexible working arrangements, this percentage will increase.

The 18 designated free pre-peak travel stations:

  • Bayfront
  • Bras Basah
  • Bugis
  • Chinatown
  • City Hall
  • Clarke Quay
  • Dhoby Ghaut
  • Downtown
  • Esplanade
  • Lavender
  • Marina Bay
  • Orchard
  • Outram Park
  • Promenade
  • Raffles Place
  • Somerset
  • Tanjong Pagar
  • Telok Ayer.

Leave a Reply